12/12/18 Ministry Updates

Hi Everyone!

Wow, it’s been a jam-packed month. Here are a few things I’ve been up to:

IMG_5351

On Halloween, I walked to the local park to check out their Halloween event. While I was there, I stumbled upon a flyer advertising free exercise classes (above pic). Me and the interns (Brooke and Debbie) decided to give it a shot. To my surprise, it has been such an awesome experience!! We’ve been going regularly the past 6 weeks, and it’s been such a fun place to meet neighbors and work up a sweat.

We’ve been praying for opportunities to minister to people. One time, the class had ended and we were heading out when we got into a conversation with Miya. She was friendly, and we ended up having a long talk about her spiritual beliefs and her desire to connect with other moms. We had the opportunity to pray with her and invite her to church (where there are lots of moms!). It was an exciting convo, and I was also glad that my interns were there to learn and participate in the work.

Another week, we got into a conversation with two sisters who attend the workout class. We shared about how we weren’t USC students but rather moved into the neighborhood because we were part of a local church. When we talked about our church, the sisters exclaimed that they had visited before!! What a coincidence! Well, not really a coincidence because God is doing something. 🙂 Please pray that God would continue to open doors and give us opportunities to minister to the women at the exercise classes.

IMG_5356

This fall, my church focused on educating parents about the public school system and the choices they have for school enrollment. Unfortunately, you need to know how to work the system in order to get into certain competitive schools. Brooke and I tabled at a Dia de los Muertos event at a local park (above pic), and my Home Fellowship hosted a workshop.

lpiicmzwxcyzrv0v6vgd

In November, I had the opportunity to preach at my church on Esther, Chapters 9 and 10. I talked about how the Jews were facing death and compared that to “The Purge” movie (above pic). Click here to listen!

I preach again this coming Sunday on Matthew 1:18-25, Jesus’ birth from Joseph’s perspective!

Brochure

At the end of this month, I’m going to Urbana, a student missions conference attended by 16,000+ people. I’ll be recruiting for Servant Partners. Please pray that God uses Urbana to call people to urban ministry. So far, recruiting has been a bit bleak. We held an Interest Day to share about the internship with interested students, and zero students came.

IMG_9618

On a personal note, my beloved roommate Tabor moved out. Can you believe that we lived together for 9 years?!?! We had a bittersweet goodbye dinner where we shared lots of memories.

IMG_5424

Dezi is our new roommate, and we’ve really enjoyed getting to know her. This is us in front of our Christmas tree.

Merry Christmas everyone!!

Leave a comment